South Carolina is not one of the biggest stats but it is one of the prettiest. From the beaches in the east to the mountains in the west, the Palmetto State is a great place to live and drive. Like most states, (only New Hampshire doesn’t require auto insurance) South Carolina has basic auto insurance requirements. In Myrtle Beach, SC, Benefit Insurance Services is your local independent agency. We will help you to make sure you are in compliance with auto insurance mandates.
If you are going to be driving in South Carolina, you are required to have liability insurance. You must have 25/5/25 coverage. That translates to $25,000 bodily injury for one person hurt in an accident with a maximum of $50,000 for any single accident. The final $25,000 is for property damage. This is the bare minimum you can carry to stay in compliance with the law. It doesn’t mean it is the amount of coverage you should have.
If you cancel your coverage or allow it to lapse, the South Carolina Motor Vehicle Department will be notified. You will receive a letter giving you 20 days to reinstate coverage. If they do not get the required coverage your license plate, vehicle registration, and your driving privilege will all be suspended. It may cost you up to $400 to get them reinstated. If you are actually caught driving without insurance you will need to pay a $550 fine.
If you have an auto loan or a lease, you will be required to have comprehensive and collision coverage. These two types of coverage protect the vehicle you are driving. Since the lender or lessor has a vested interest in your vehicle they want it protected.
If you live in Myrtle Beach, SC call Benefit Insurance Services if you are looking for auto insurance. We will make sure you have exactly the insurance you need.